Already almost 500 registrations for the Brixen Dolomiten Marathon on 4 July 2020

Brixen, 18 February 2020 – The starting numbers for the eleventh edition of the renowned mountain race in the South Tyrolean cathedral city are literally going like hot cakes. Four and a half months before the starting signal on Saturday, 4 July at 00.01 on the cathedral square in Brixen, around 500 mountain runners from 23 different nations have registered for the classic. At the same time, the new design for the finisher medals has also been decided.  

The Brixen Dolomiten Marathon has recently developed into an international mountain running festival. While in the early years mainly participants from the alpine region were at the start, more and more athletes from all over the world are now taking on the journey to South Tyrol and subsequently the exertions of one of the three distances on offer. This year’s eleventh edition of the Brixen Dolomites Marathon, the second edition of the Dolomites Ultra Trail (84 km/4728 m altitude difference) or the LadiniaTrail (29 km/1852 hm) will feature mountain runners from Singapore, the USA, Hong Kong, South Africa and Russia, among others.

Once at the finish line, endurance athletes can look forward to stylish finisher medals. “They are square this year. The individual medals show a runner who is running in the mountains. The design is very modern. Of course, the date of our races – July 4th – as well as the name of the race that the participant successfully completed should not be missing,” explains Roald Bertol from the organising ASV Brixen Dolomiten Marathon.

Reduced entry fee until 31 March 2020

Registration for the Brixen mountain running event is possible on the official website . The starting ticket for the Brixen Dolomites Marathon, which can also be run in teams of two or four, costs 89 euros until 31 March. For the Dolomites Ultra Trail the teams of two have to pay 200 Euro, while the entry fee for the LadiniaTrail is 55 Euro.

Defending champions are Andreas Reiterer and Doris Weissteiner (Brixen Dolomites Marathon), David Lingfors and Heidi Dapunt (LadiniaTrail), and Jimmy Pellegrini and Alexander Rabensteiner (Dolomites Ultra Trail).